Dangers of a Catholic Upbringing

Standard

As I  walked down the busy sidewalk, knowing I was  late for Mass, my eye fell upon one of those  unfortunate, homeless vagabonds (you know – tattered clothing, long hair etc) that are found  in every city these days.

Some  people turned to stare. Others quickly looked  away as if the sight would somehow contaminate  them..

Recalling my old  pastor, Father Mike, who always admonished  me to ‘care for the sick, feed the hungry and  clothe the naked,’ I was moved by some powerful  inner urge to reach out to this unfortunate  person.

Wearing  what can only be described as rags, carrying  every worldly possession in two plastic bags, my  heart was touched by this person’s  condition.

Yes, where  some people saw only rags, I saw a true, hidden  beauty.

A small  voice inside my head called out, ‘Reach out,  reach out and touch this  person!’

hobo
So I  did……

traction

I won’t be  at Mass this week….

One thought on “Dangers of a Catholic Upbringing

  1. I know the man there in traction, but being a friend of mine, I will not tell. Has been looking to assist those in need wherever he goes. I can report that he is ok though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

